Lennox Residential
Email SignupSign up for email news
XP16 Heat Pump

Elite® Series

XP16 Heat Pump

High-efficiency, two-stage comfort

View Product Details
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely quiet and powerful. This is a gorgeous machine, it is so quiet and powerful. We have two, 2-tonn units. We love the two speed compressor and the variable speed air blower. I think they will last 20 years and I will enjoy them the entire time, mostly because I can't hear them running. We have two outdoor units, just a meter or so apart and you just don't hear them. We love to relax on the back porch (after all I still enjoy the outdoors as well as a cool-dry house) and the two XP-16 compressors are just about 20 feet away from the porch, down the house along the rear wall of the house. We sit out there and rock on our large swing-bench and don't even notice the a/c sounds. I love the new programmable thermostats and I am able to program the upstairs sleeping quarters very differently than our downstairs living spaces. We have a Cape Cod style house with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths upstairs. Downstairs our house consists of the Kitchen, Breakfast room, Great-Room, Laundry, 1/2 bath, dry-stores pantry, and a large dining room that we have converted into an office. Thus you can see the living situation is very different upstairs verses downstairs and we program the 5-time zone thermostats very differently to match our lives. Super easy to control and very intuitive to adjust. Full flexibility for every day of the week, with 5 periods per day. We love the "Lennox" units! September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unit is efficient and quiet This unit has a 2 stage operational mode for efficiency and provides both AC & Heating functions. It is a quiet operating system and we are very pleased with the unit. October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't even hear it running! I have only had the old style, one speed units before so, I am very impressed with how quiet this thing is inside and out. It cools the house very well but I haven't tested the heat pump yet. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my heat pump! This thing is amazing! The heat pump work very well. It keeps the house just the right temperature and it is quiet! October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good unit The unit I purchased is performing to my expectations. I did think the price was a bit high but a purchased the product due to the good reputation of Lennox. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by We are very happy with the performance of this unit. This heap pump replaced a water source heat pump and has exceeded our expectations in regards to energy consumption. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helps keep 4-level split house comfortable No complaints so far with this heat pump; we've not had it through a cold Iowa winter (we have a backup lp furnace for supplemental heating), so hopefully it will work well all year round. Unit isn't too loud and seems to work well! September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome, efficient Very sturdy and efficient. Great in the Florida heat. September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product works great! We are very pleased with this unit. After installation the servicemen took a few minutes to show us what we needed to know. It is easy to understand and easy to set to our needs. This unit cools our home and with the programmable thermostat, we rarely even have to look at the controls to know that it is working the way we want it. Our sales person knew this product and knew it would do exctly what we were needing! August 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Less electricity Too soon to tell but I'm sure it will use less electricity August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great HVAC units questionable wifi thermostats In Dec 2012, I had 2-Lennox HVAC systems installed for each side of my home. This included 2-XP16 (2-stage Heat Pumps and 2-CBX32MV variable speed air handlers. So far, the units are quiet and perform efficiently. The problem was that I ordered 2-Icomfort 5000 wi-fi thermostats to control each system. These are beautiful thermostats, functional and easy to operate and to access over the internet. The problem is their reliability! After only 7 mos of use, one of the thermostats stopped working. I just turned 14mos on both systems and now the second thermostat to the other HVAC unit has stopped working? When this happens, you lose access to heat or cooling. I have other devices in home which use wi-fi without issue or device failure. I would like to work with Lennox to determine any defects because I believe in Lennox. In the immediate however, I’m online trying to find a more dependable set thermostats. This is too close in to the purchase of these expensive thermostats to be experiencing these issues. I recommend the HVAC units but find it difficult to recommend the Lennox Wi-Fi thermostats. February 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor quality We have only had this unit about 4 months. The outside unit was never coming on and unfortunately we never new that until the electric bills arrived. We assumed the unit was as quite as all the reviews had said which was one of our reasons for buying it. It has not lived up to our expectations. This is our third heat pump and the only brand we ever had to place a call for service and it is basically brand new. January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by does its job well Cooling and humidity control are outstanding. Heat is efficient. It is quite quiet except at the end of a heat cycle. We have had it for 15 months.It has exceeded our expectations for two summers and a NE winter. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very quiet efficient machine After four months, and in the middle of summer, we have not had to turn on one of our three units because the new Lennox keeps the lower level cool . July 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Heat Pump Replaced our old Lennox heat pump in January 2013, old one was 25 years old. Electric bill was cut in half!! Unit is quiet and the thermostate switches from heat pump to electric resistance heat to air conditioning automatically. Best choice we have made. No problems so far, quaity instalation makes the difference. Great product. May 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good--very quiet and efficient. We've had this unit for about two months. It is a huge improvement over the twenty year old unit it replaced. Much, much, quieter, and much more efficient with the two-stage feature. I'll write another review in August, after temperatures here in Phoenix have been 110+ for a couple of months... April 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet, efficient Impressed by the quiet, efficient operation. Thermostat seems quite responsive. April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great features. I wish we knew about heat pumps before winter started, the installation of this product reduced my gas bill immensely. The only concern I have is I wish the product was quiter when it runs. I would greatly recommend to anyone who heats their home with propane gas to install a Lennox heat pump because it drastically reduces your monthly heating bills. April 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful energy efficient I have had this product for only 1+ months and already my electric bill has gone down. It heats quickly and keeps the humidity at an even level. March 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the programmable thermostat Replaced complete system. New internal unit has more powerful fan, so air flowing from vents is more noticeable and louder. Outside units is about as quiet as our old unit (which we were aware of). Really love the programmable thermostat. Easy to program with setups for work week and weekends or you can program every day. We replaced a Lennox with a Lennox. Our old unit was 15-years-old and on its last legs. Our A/C and heat bills have always been low. Hopeful the new system will be the same. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by working good and is quiet and looks good I wished that I purchased the xp17. better ratings but the xp16 is cheaper to run than our old on. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by heat pump 16 so far very good but actually need more time to evaluate if true savings. My rating may actually be a 5 star but cannot verify until further use. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I'm very happy with the product that I received. My old unit became broken after 20 years and it was an emergency to be replaced due to winter weather and extreme summer heat. Thank you Lennox! February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet, Efficient, Competitive pricing This unit is set up out side our master bed room. It runs very quiet. Does not interrupt sleep and isn't distractiing when it starts. The recovery mode allows me to lower the heat to very low levels at night and wake up to a well heated house each morning without running aux heat saving extra $$ February 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by a terrible product We have a Lennox XP16 installed at my house in 2008. That machine has constantly given us problems. On average I have to call back technicians every three to four months. The replaced condensor and now the compressor and copper pipes are dead so they have to replace those. It has been a nightmare for us. Don't buy this product...a very bad idea!!!! February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product seems very updated, effective and very efficient. So far it seems to be a great product. I look forward to replacing my other AC/Heating unit with a Lennox too. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great heat pump We installed over the Christmas holiday and there was an instant improvement in the warmth of our house. The unit is quiet and you can tell it is well built. The control panel is AWESOME. Everything is there on touch screen including a weather forecast and a 2 second process for cooling down when we are gone for a few days. What an improvement. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet and efficient This unit is noticeably quieter than our previous unit. It produces more heat and seems more efficient. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 this product works qu iet i replaced my oil system, that works noisy and boring, this one works good and very economy in electricity. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product gives us the heat desired. I am pleased with the heat produced by this heat pump. Rooms not heated by previous heat pump are now comfortable. I assume it will also cool all rooms as well. December 11, 2012
2 next>>
© 2014 Lennox International Inc.